Book Interviews, Books, podcast

Podcast Episode 9: interview with Mary Robinette Kowal

Episode 9 of the podcast features the lovely, multi-talented, and award-winning Mary Robinette Kowal!

Mary splits her time between multiple creative endeavors, and on this episode she digs into what it’s like to be an audiobook narrator as well as an author. Go behind the scenes to learn what it’s really like to record an audio book, and enjoy Mary’s insight and humor as she accounts her experiences. We also talk about her newest book, THE CALCULATING STARS, which hit shelves on July 3, 2018.

We reference a few fun things in the podcast, below are the links:

Mary’s Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/maryrobinette/memberships

Mary’s Drip: https://d.rip/maryrobinette/tiers

Plus, click here for The Lady Astronaut club!

*****

Listen to the podcast on iTunes, or if you don’t have iTunes, I’ve also posted a link to SoundCloud below.

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, facebook, and twitter.

itunes link

Book Interviews, Books, podcast

Podcast Episode 8: interview with Susan Dennard, plus THREE BOOK giveaway!

Episode 8 of the podcast features amazing author Susan Dennard! We talk about her newest book SIGHTWITCH, along with the creative process, what’s coming up in the next book, hot kisses, and more!

PLUS we’re excited to share an amazing giveaway: all three of the Witchlands books that I’m giving away to one lucky winner. Scroll down for your chance to enter!

Listen to the podcast on iTunes, or if you don’t have iTunes, I’ve also posted a link to SoundCloud.

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, facebook, and twitter.

itunes link

GIVEAWAY!

Giveaway is open to North America only.

Enter by 12:00 am EST on March 15th, 2018.

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Interviews, Books, podcast

Podcast Episode 7: Throwback interview with Christopher Paolini and Rachel Hartman and INTERNATIONAL giveaway!

In this throwback interview from San Diego 2012 I sit down with co-host Mike Macauley (from our old site lytherus.com and the awesome Christopher Paolini fan site Shurtugal.com) to interview Christopher Paolini and Rachel Hartman on her then-recently released book, Seraphina. I’m featuring this old interview to celebrate the release of Hartman’s newest book, Tess of the Road, which hits stores on Tuesday February 27, 2018.

Also, I’m doing my first INTERNATIONAL giveaway! I have an ARC of Tess of the Road that I’m giving away to one lucky winner. Scroll down for your chance to enter!

Listen to the podcast on iTunes, or if you don’t have iTunes, I’ve also posted a link to SoundCloud.

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, facebook, and twitter. I have tons of stuff in the works, including interviews with some heavy hitters in the YA field, and a lot of giveaways — but I’ll only be doing those if I get some more followers (especially on Instagram)!

itunes link


GIVEAWAY!

Giveaway is open to anywhere! I don’t do international giveaways often, so don’t miss out!

Enter by 11:59 pm EST on March 6, 2018.

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Interviews, Books, Interviews, podcast

Podcast episode 6: Bookstagram 101 with Sara from Novel Novice!

Today’s guest is the lovely Sara Gundell, master blogger babe and creator of the amazing book blog Novel Novice. She has been killing it in the bookstagram game this past year, and, as a newbie in that area, I am frequently inspired by Sara’s awesome images. Like these:

Gorgeous, right?

I wanted to pick her brain on how she got into bookstagramming, and get some tips on how she makes her lovely spreads and how she stays organized!

This is a great podcast to listen to if you’re wanting to get into promoting books on Instagram, and also if you’re wanting some insight from someone who is doing it successfully.

Be sure to follow Sara on her Instagram too, so you don’t miss any future images!

And here’s the link to an instagram page that collects monthly photo challenges, if you want to get some good ideas!

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagramfacebook, and twitter. I have tons of stuff in the works, including interviews with some heavy hitters in the YA field, and a lot of giveaways — but I’ll only be doing those if I get some more followers (especially on Instagram)!

itunes link

Book Interviews, Books, podcast

Podcast Episode 5: Throwback interview with James Dashner and GIVEAWAY!

In episode 5 I throwback to a chat from San Diego Comic Con 2013with James Dashner, author of The Maze Runner series. We talk about the series, the first movie coming out, and his then-upcoming new book, The Eye of Minds.

Also, I’m doing my first giveaway! I have a set of movie tie-in covers for the entire Maze Runner trilogy, as well as a prequel book, The Fever Code. Scroll down for your chance to enter!

Listen to the podcast on iTunes, or if you don’t have iTunes, I’ve also posted a link to SoundCloud.

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, facebook, and twitter. I have tons of stuff in the works, including interviews with some heavy hitters in the YA field, and a lot of giveaways — but I’ll only be doing those if I get some more followers (especially on Instagram)!

itunes link

GIVEAWAY!

Giveaway is open to US and Canada only, sorry!

Enter by 11:59 pm EST on February 5, 2018.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Books, podcast

Podcast episode 4: Our January 2018 recommended reads with Mel from University book store, Seattle!

In this episode Mel Barnes from University book store in Seattle chats with me about her must-read pics for January! Here’s a quick summary of the books we discuss, at a glance:

Iron Gold, Book 4 of the Red Rising series by Pierce Brown**

Judgment Road, Book 1 of Torpedo Ink by Christine Feehan

Binti: The Night Masquerade, Book 3 of Binti series by Nnedi Okorafor

Shroud of Eternity: Sisters of Darkness: The Nicci Chronicles, Volume 2 by Terry Goodkind

Beneath the Sugar Sky, Book 3 of Wayward Children series by Seanan McGuire

Gnomon by Nick Harkaway

The Lost Plot, Book 4: Invisible Library series by Genevieve Cogman

Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson

Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

** If you call the bookstore up to the morning of Friday January 19, 2018, you can place an order for a signed and/or personalized copy of Iron Gold by Pierce Brown! Shipping free in the contiguous US. Phone number below. 

Here are some things mentioned in the episode:

-University Book Store  number: (206) 634-3400

Enjoy the episode, and let us know if you’re read any of these books already, and what you enjoyed!

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, facebook, and twitter. I have tons of stuff in the works, including interviews with some heavy hitters in the YA field, and a lot of giveaways — but I’ll only be doing those if I get some more followers (especially on Instagram)!

itunes link

Book Interviews, Books, Interviews, podcast

Podcast episode 3: Interview with Alex Kahler, author of RUNEBINDER

In episode 3 I chat with Alex Kahler, author of RUNEBINDER. We talk about the creation of the world and the awesome element-based magic system, what’s up for the series, and what it’s like writing gay YA in the fantasy genre.

Listen to the podcast on iTunes, or if you don’t have iTunes, I’ve also posted a link to SoundCloud.

Enjoy the episode, and let us know if you’re read this book already and what you enjoyed!

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, facebook, and twitter. I have tons of stuff in the works, including interviews with some heavy hitters in the YA field, and a lot of giveaways — but I’ll only be doing those if I get some more followers (especially on Instagram)!

itunes link

Books, podcast

Podcast episode 2: Must-reads for December and holiday suggestions with Mel from University book store, Seattle!

In this episode Mel Barnes from University book store in Seattle chats with me about her must-read pics for December, as well as some other wonderful series, all which will make excellent holiday gifts!

Listen to the podcast on iTunes, or if you don’t have iTunes, I’ve also posted a link to SoundCloud.

Here are some things mentioned in the episode:

-UBS number: (206) 634-3400

-Novelnovice.com re-read of His Dark Materials

Enjoy the episode, and let us know if you’re read any of these books already, and what you enjoyed!

Also, don’t forget to follow us on Instagram, facebook, and twitter. I have tons of stuff in the works, including interviews with some heavy hitters in the YA field, and a lot of giveaways — but I’ll only be doing those if I get some more followers (especially on Instagram)!

itunes link

Book Interviews, Interviews, podcast

Ink Feather Podcast Throwback: Interview with Leigh Bardugo and Marissa Meyer!

images-2-300x196I’m excited to kick off my Ink Feather Podcast, something I have literally wanted to do for almost 3 years now. I have a lot of cool interviews in the works, but I wanted to get it off the ground, so I’m starting by re-visiting one of my all-time favorite interviews!

Leigh Bardugo. Marissa Meyer. What more is there to say? Two powerhouses of YA fantasy right now! They are incredible storytellers, both of them, and it was really fun to interview them back in 2013 when their first series were still in the creation stages (at the time of the interview, Leigh had her second Grisha book out, and Marissa had her second Lunar Chronicles book out).

Here’s a link to the throwback episode, and scroll further down if you want to read my original post that went with the interview.

 

Enjoy!

_____________

In the past year or two there have been a few book series that have really stood out in YA fantasy. Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles (‘Cinder,’ ‘Scarlet’ and upcoming ‘Cress’) and Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Series (‘Shadow and Bone’ and ‘Siege and Storm’) were at the top of that list.

We have been fortunate enough to feature both ladies on Lytherus previously (Click here and here for Leigh, and here for Marissa). However, we wanted more from these amazing New York Times bestselling authors, so we arranged a dual audio interview at San Diego Comic Con. The theme of the interview was similarities between their series, including older fables and fantasy influencing their worlds, strong female characters, and of course rakish boys! And, not surprisingly, they are fans of each other’s series, so they both enjoyed singing the praises of the other.

Book News, Book Reviews, Books, News, Reviews

Need some new reads? Here are our upcoming review books

We here at Lytherus are always getting advanced copies of books sent our way, and we love having the chance to read and review those stories for our readers. Well, there’s been a bit of an influx of books the past few months, so we’re going to be staggering the reviews a bit, but we thought we’d share what books we have coming up in case you want to add them to your TBR pile. And bonus, there may be some extra goodies like exclusive giveaways and interviews!

Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure, by Brandon Mull, published March 14, 2017

In the long-awaited sequel to Fablehaven, the dragons who have been kept at the dragon sanctuaries no longer consider them safe havens, but prisons and they want their freedom. The dragons are no longer our allies….

In the hidden dragon sanctuary of Wyrmroost, Celebrant the Just, King of the Dragons, plots his revenge. He has long seen the sanctuaries as prisons, and he wants nothing more than to overthrow his captors and return the world to the Age of Dragons, when he and his kind ruled and reigned without borders. The time has come to break free and reclaim his power.

No one person is capable of stopping Celebrant and his dragon horde. It will take the ancient order of Dragonwatch to gather again if there is any chance of saving the world from destruction. In ancient times, Dragonwatch was a group of wizards, enchantresses, dragon slayers, and others who originally confined the majority of dragons into sanctuaries. But nearly all of the original Dragonwatch members are gone, and so the wizard Agad reaches out to Grandpa Sorenson for help.

As Kendra and Seth confront this new danger, they must draw upon all their skills, talents, and knowledge as only they have the ability to function together as a powerful dragon tamer. Together they must battle against forces with superior supernatural powers and breathtaking magical abilities.

How will the epic dragon showdown end? Will dragons overthrow humans and change the world as we know it?

Blood Rose Rebellion, by Rosalyn Eves, published March 28, 2017

“A magical tale unlike anything you’ve read before.” —Bustle.com

“[A] richly imagined 19th-century historical fantasy.” —EW.com, A-

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romani, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

“A fast-paced historical fantasy full of magic, romance, and adventure!”—JESSICA DAY GEORGE, New York Times bestselling author of Silver in the Blood

Royal Bastards, by Andrew Shvarts, published May 30, 2017

Being a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father, Lord Kent of the Western Province, loved her as a child, but cast her aside as soon as he had trueborn children. At sixteen, Tilla spends her days exploring long-forgotten tunnels beneath the castle with her stablehand half brother, Jax, and her nights drinking with the servants, passing out on Jax’s floor while her castle bedroom collects dust. Tilla secretly longs to sit by her father’s side, resplendent in a sparkling gown, enjoying feasts with the rest of the family. Instead, she sits with the other bastards, like Miles of House Hampstedt, an awkward scholar who’s been in love with Tilla since they were children. Then, at a feast honoring the visiting princess Lyriana, the royal shocks everyone by choosing to sit at the Bastards’ Table. Before she knows it, Tilla is leading the sheltered princess on a late-night escapade. Along with Jax, Miles, and fellow bastard Zell, a Zitochi warrior from the north, they stumble upon a crime they were never meant to witness. Rebellion is brewing in the west, and a brutal coup leaves Lyriana’s uncle, the Royal Archmagus, dead–with Lyriana next on the list. The group flees for their lives, relentlessly pursued by murderous mercenaries; their own parents have put a price on their heads to prevent the king and his powerful Royal Mages from discovering their treachery. The bastards band together, realizing they alone have the power to prevent a civil war that will tear their kingdom apart–if they can warn the king in time. And if they can survive the journey . . .

 

Julia Defiant, by Catherine Egan, published June 13th, 2017

Fans of The Rose Society, Graceling, and Six of Crows will thrill to the masterful world-building and fiercely flawed heroine in this heart-pounding follow-up to Julia Vanishes, book two in the Witch’s Child trilogy.
 
“Adventure, murder, romance, intrigue, and betrayal with a 16-year-old heroine that is both fierce and flawed at the same time.” —Hypable.com
 
Julia and a mismatched band of revolutionaries, scholars, and thieves have crossed the world searching for a witch. But for all the miles traveled, they are no closer to finding Ko Dan. No closer to undoing the terrible spell he cast that bound an ancient magic to the life of a small child. Casimir wants that magic—will happily kill Theo to extract it—and every moment they hunt for Ko Dan, Casimir’s assassins are hunting them.
Julia can deal with danger. The thing that truly scares her lies within. Her strange ability to vanish to a place just out of sight has grown: she can now disappear so completely that it’s like stepping into another world. It’s a fiery, hellish world, filled with creatures who seem to recognize her—and count her as one of their own.
So . . . is Julia a girl with a monster lurking inside her? Or a monster wearing the disguise of a girl?
If she can use her monstrous power to save Theo, does it matter?
In this riveting second book in the Witch’s Child trilogy, Catherine Egan goes deep within the heart of a fierce, defiant girl trying to discover not just who but what she truly is.

Praise for Julia Vanishes:

“Egan’s debut novel sparkles. A beautifully rendered world and exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Readers will find themselves immediately immersed in the narrative and invested in the fate of Julia, who is both feisty and flawed.” —Booklist, starred review

“Julia’s a wonderful, fully realized heroine. . . . For those readers waiting for the sequel to Marie Lu’s The Rose Society, a well-realized page-turner in the same vein.” —Kirkus
 

Spoonbenders, by Daryl Gregory, published June 27, 2017

“Hilarious, heartfelt and brimming with humanity.” —Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest

Teddy Telemachus is a charming con man with a gift for sleight of hand and some shady underground associates. In need of cash, he tricks his way into a classified government study about telekinesis and its possible role in intelligence gathering. There he meets Maureen McKinnon, and it’s not just her piercing blue eyes that leave Teddy forever charmed, but her mind—Maureen is a genuine psychic of immense and mysterious power. After a whirlwind courtship, they marry, have three gifted children, and become the Amazing Telemachus Family, performing astounding feats across the country. Irene is a human lie detector. Frankie can move objects with his mind. And Buddy, the youngest, can see the future. Then one night tragedy leaves the family shattered.

Decades later, the Telemachuses are not so amazing. Irene is a single mom whose ear for truth makes it hard to hold down a job, much less hold together a relationship. Frankie’s in serious debt to his dad’s old mob associates. Buddy has completely withdrawn into himself and inexplicably begun digging a hole in the backyard. To make matters worse, the CIA has come knocking, looking to see if there’s any magic left in the Telemachus clan. And there is: Irene’s son Matty has just had his first out-of-body experience. But he hasn’t told anyone, even though his newfound talent might just be what his family needs to save themselves—if it doesn’t tear them apart in the process.

Harnessing the imaginative powers that have made him a master storyteller, Daryl Gregory delivers a stunning, laugh-out-loud new novel about a family of gifted dreamers and the invisible forces that bind us all.

Gork the Teenage Dragon, by Gabe Hudson, published July 11, 2017

A wacky, exuberant, heartfelt debut novel: the unholy child of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Harry Potter, and Sixteen Candles—and this time with dragons.

“No good human won’t love this dragon named Gork.” —Dave Eggers

“A one-of-a-kind coming-of-age story.” —Tracy K. Smith, U.S. Poet Laureate

Gork isn’t like the other dragons at WarWings Military Academy. He has a gigantic heart, two-inch horns, and an occasional problem with fainting. His nickname is Weak Sauce and his Will to Power ranking is Snacklicious—the lowest in his class. But he is determined not to let any of this hold him back as he embarks on the most important mission of his life: tonight, on the eve of his high school graduation, he must ask a female dragon to be his queen. If she says yes, they’ll go off to conquer a foreign planet together. If she says no, Gork becomes a slave.

Vying with Jocks, Nerds, Mutants, and Multi-Dimensioners to find his mate, Gork encounters an unforgettable cast of friends and foes, including Dr. Terrible, the mad scientist; Fribby, a robot dragon obsessed with death; and Metheldra, a healer specializing in acupuncture with swords. But finally it is Gork’s biggest perceived weakness, his huge heart, that will guide him through his epic quest and help him reach his ultimate destination: planet Earth.

A love story, a fantasy, and a coming-of-age story, Gork the Teenage Dragon is a wildly comic, beautifully imagined, and deeply heartfelt debut novel that shows us just how human a dragon can be.

Wonder Woman: Warbringer, by Leigh Bardugo, published August 29, 2017

The highly anticipated, entirely new coming-of-age story for the world’s greatest super hero: WONDER WOMAN by the # 1 New York Times bestselling author LEIGH BARDUGO.

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

Act fast! The first printing includes a poster of Diana! Each first printing in the DC Icons series will have a limited-edition poster—collect them all to create the full image!

Warbringer is straight-up dazzling, every sentence waking up your senses with a ‘Yeah, that’s right, this is BRAND-NEW, SUCKAS!’ punch.”
—LIBBA BRAY, New York Times bestselling author of The Diviners

“Will absolutely satisfy pre-existing fans of Wonder Woman, but it also readily stands alone for non-superhero fans.”
Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

“Wonder Woman is the epitome of a kick-butt heroine, and Bardugo does her justice with aplomb.”
The Bulletin

“Bardugo breathes zippy new life into the story with a twisty plot, whip-smart characters, and her trademark masterful writing.”
—Booklist